Stacking question. (in General)

QBJohnnywas September 20 2006 9:16 AM EDT

This might seem like a stupid question, but how do spells/skills stack?

I was under the impression that if you have two minions both training the same spell (for instance) the final stacking is the equivalent to one spell with the same amount of xp. Is that right? So if you stacked two protections, one of (4) and one of (4) you don't end up with one of (8) do you?

So maybe I've been under the wrong impression because the Wiki says the levels stack, so those two protections WOULD add up to (8).

Which one is right?

QBJohnnywas September 20 2006 9:18 AM EDT

Just to simplify slightly: Is the final result of stacking a result of stacking the xp or stacking the levels?

AdminShade September 20 2006 9:19 AM EDT

Their level will be stacked and then the new effect will be calculated.

So a 300 (4) and 300 (4) protection will be stacked to a 600 (x) protection.

The wiki in this case is correct and has been for quite a while.

QBJohnnywas September 20 2006 9:21 AM EDT

Ok, so the level stacks but not the casting effect?

AdminShade September 20 2006 9:21 AM EDT

The final result is due to stacking of levels.

If this would be the same as their combined experience I can't say for sure.

AdminQBGentlemanLoser [{END}] September 20 2006 9:31 AM EDT

Base proection is level 1,000 effect (4). using two adds levels, then works out a new effect. The effects wouldn't be added 4 + 4, but rather level 1,000 + 1,000 which might work out to be 2,000 (5).


AdminShade September 20 2006 9:34 AM EDT

Which not only might, but will create the (5) effect.

AdminQBGentlemanLoser [{END}] September 20 2006 9:37 AM EDT

WooT! Hit the nail on the head! :P Thanks Shade! ;)
This thread is closed to new posts. However, you are welcome to reference it from a new thread; link this with the html <a href="/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=001uIQ">Stacking question.</a>