[Invalid] Botcheck Failure - can an admin do me a favor? (in General)

QBsutekh137 July 17 2008 10:26 AM EDT

To any admin with the power:

This morning I got a botcheck, it was "lain", but I typed "kain" (it was early, at least for me *smile*). Another check came up, I pressed <enter> thinking I was just fighting, and then I got the "two strikes you're out..." message.

I clicked back in my browser and confirmed the second botcheck field appeared to be empty (at least displayed by my browser), and the first one still had "kain" in the box.

But empty entries are not supposed to be considered an actual guess, are they? Are the rules different for the second check, and I just never noticed? Did I actually type something in or get some text copied in without knowing it?

It is not a big deal, I paid around $47,000 and moved on. I am just wondering what I did wrong or if an admin can even see what the system thinks happened?


AdminShade July 17 2008 11:05 AM EDT

I think you accidently entered in a space and failed it...

I can't help you with this so you'd have to wait for a full admin :)

QBsutekh137 July 17 2008 12:05 PM EDT

Thanks for checking, Shade...

I never thought a single character or space could count as a guess either, so hopefully someone can find out more about what happened here...

King July 17 2008 1:00 PM EDT

if you type in 2 or less characters you get a little pop-up saying it needs to be 3 or 4 characters long so maybe it just cleared out what you typed when you hit back or you hit the spacebar 3 times

QBsutekh137 July 17 2008 1:08 PM EDT

Yeah, not sure why I would be hitting spacebar in the middle of a fight, or why the algorithm wouldn't trim the result (spaces are never a part of bot words), but this is coming from the guy who typed "kain" instead of "lain", so who knows! *smile*

bartjan July 17 2008 1:59 PM EDT

You answered 'kain' twice.

QBsutekh137 July 17 2008 2:14 PM EDT

Awesome! Thanks for checking, bart!

AdminNightStrike April 10 2012 11:39 PM EDT

You submitted the first page twice. When you to submit the answer for the second bot check (might have been blank, could have been anything), it wasn't logged because you were already locked out because you double clutched on the first bot check.
This thread is closed to new posts. However, you are welcome to reference it from a new thread; link this with the html <a href="/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=002UXg">[Invalid] Botcheck Failure - can an admin do me a favor?</a>